All Ohio U.S. Congressional incumbents win reelection, Associated Press projects

The U.S. Capitol Building. Photo by Samuel Corum/Getty Images.

All of Ohio’s U.S. Congressional district incumbents both Republican and Democratic have won reelection according to projections from the Associated Press based on unofficial results.

The AP has called the races in favor of incumbent Democratic U.S. Reps. Joyce Beatty, Marcy Kaptur, Marcia Fudge, and Tim Ryan, as well as Republican incumbents Steve Chabot, Troy Balderson, Dave Joyce, Jim Jordan, Bob Gibbs, Anthony Gonzalez, Bob Latta, Warren Davidson, Steve Stivers, Mike Turner, Brad Wenstrup, and Bill Johnson.

Since the last round of redistricting in 2011, no U.S. House seat in Ohio has flipped control from one party to the other — not in 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018 or, now, in 2020. This has given Republicans a 12-4 advantage in representation in the U.S. House.

Ohioans approved Congressional redistricting reform in 2018, a new process for drawing district maps that will take place in 2021. Whatever maps are drawn in 2021 will take effect for congressional district races in 2022.

The results will remain unofficial until all absentee and provisional ballots can be counted. Ohio Secretary of State Frank LaRose has directed county boards of elections to follow an “expedited” schedule for this, telling the 88 counties to begin their official canvass on Nov. 14 and finish counting by Nov. 18.

The race between Republican incumbent Ohio U.S. Rep. Steve Chabot and Democratic challenger Kate Schroder was seen as the most potentially competitive race by many national prognosticators. It was also the last race to be called by the Associated Press.

Subscribe now.
Make a tax-deductible donation.