Ohio Democrats pick up one U.S. Congressional seat in midterm election

GOP still holds 10-5 advantage among Ohio’s delegation

By: - November 9, 2022 12:21 am

The U.S. Capitol. (Photo by Lynne Terry / Oregon Capital Chronicle, States Newsroom.)

Ohio Democrats increased the number of U.S. House district seats they hold by one in the state’s midterm election Tuesday, though Republicans still hold 10 out of the 15 seats.

Ohio lost one U.S. Congressional seat from the latest Census, and after Tuesday’s election, the delegation will go from 12-4 Republican-to-Democrat to 10-5 Republican-to-Democrat. The results do not become official until they are certified by bipartisan county boards of elections.

Notably, Cincinnati Republican incumbent U.S. Rep. Steve Chabot lost his reelection bid to Democrat Greg Landsman in Ohio U.S. Congressional District 1, while Toledo Democratic U.S. Rep. Marcy Kaptur won hers over Republican J.R. Majewski in Ohio U.S. Congressional District 9.

In the two open-seat races, Democratic candidate Emilia Sykes defeated Republican Madison Gesiotto Gilbert in Ohio U.S. House District 13, while Republican Max Miller defeated Democrat Matthew Diemer in Ohio U.S. House District 7.

Candidates competed under a map declared to be an unconstitutional gerrymander by a bipartisan majority on the Ohio Supreme Court.

Ohio Republican legislative leaders have appealed to the U.S. Supreme Court the bipartisan Ohio Supreme Court ruling that the state’s Republican-drawn U.S. Congressional map used for the 2022 Election is unconstitutional.

The map was passed along party lines in a vote of the Ohio Redistricting Commission (ORC) after the Republican supermajority General Assembly failed to produce a second map when the first map passed by it was also declared unconstitutional. Ohio voters passed redistricting reform to stop congressional gerrymandering in 2018 with nearly 75% in favor.

The future of Ohio’s congressional maps largely hinges on whether the U.S. Supreme Court takes up Ohio Republicans’ case; control over the Ohio Statehouse and the three statewide elected officials on the Ohio Redistricting Commission — governor, auditor, and secretary of state; and the new make-up of the Ohio Supreme Court come January.

In the unofficial results Tuesday night, Ohio Republicans have held majority control over both the House and Senate chambers of the Ohio Statehouse. Republican Gov. Mike DeWine, Secretary of State Frank LaRose, and Auditor Keith Faber, also have won reelection. And all three Republicans won the Ohio Supreme Court races.

Full unofficial results

Below are the full unofficial results of Ohio’s U.S. Congressional district races, as of early Wednesday morning with 100% of precincts reporting.

For full percentage and vote total breakdowns, please visit the Ohio Secretary of State website here.

(i) indicates the candidate is the incumbent. N/A indicates no one petitioned or qualified to run. The candidate’s name italicized in bold indicates unofficial results show a clear winner. If a race is too close to call, or an automatic recount has been triggered, it will be indicated.

U.S. Congress

District 1 – Hamilton (part), Warren
Democratic: Greg Landsman
Republican: Steve Chabot (i)
Independent: N/A

District 2 – Adams, Brown, Clermont, Clinton, Fayette (part), Gallia, Highland, Hocking, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Pickaway, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Vinton
Democratic: Samantha Meadows
Republican: Brad Wenstrup (i)
Independent: N/A

District 3 – Franklin (part)
Democratic: Joyce Beatty (i)
Republican: Lee Stahley
Independent: N/A

District 4 – Allen, Ashland, Auglaize, Champaign, Delaware (part), Hardin, Logan, Marion, Morrow, Richland, Shelby (part), Union, Wyandot (part)
Democratic: Tamie Wilson
Republican: Jim Jordan (i)
Independent: N/A

District 5 – Crawford, Hancock, Henry, Huron, Lorain, Mercer, Paulding, Putnam, Seneca, Van Wert, Wyandot (part), Wood (part)
Democratic: Craig Swartz
Republican: Bob Latta (i)
Independent: N/A

District 6 – Belmont, Carroll, Columbiana, Harrison, Jefferson, Mahoning, Monroe, Noble, Stark (part), Tuscarawas (part), Washington
Democratic: Lou Lyras
Republican: Bill Johnson (i)
Independent: N/A

District 7 – Cuyahoga (part), Holmes (part), Medina, Wayne
Democratic: Matthew Diemer
Republican: Max Miller
Independent: N/A

District 8 – Butler, Darke, Hamilton (part), Miami (part), Preble
Democratic: Vanessa Enoch
Republican: Warren Davidson (i)
Independent: N/A

District 9 – Defiance, Erie, Fulton, Lucas, Ottawa, Sandusky, Williams, Wood (part)
Democratic: Marcy Kaptur (i)
Republican: J.R. Majewski
Independent: Youseff Baddar

District 10 – Clark (part), Greene, Montgomery
Democratic: David Esrati
Republican: Michael Turner (i)
Independent: N/A

District 11 – Cuyahoga (part)
Democratic: Shontel Brown (i)
Republican: Eric Brewer
Independent: N/A

District 12 – Athens, Coshocton, Delaware (part), Fairfield, Guernsey, Holmes (part), Knox, Licking, Morgan, Muskingum, Perry, Tuscarawas (part)
Democratic: Amy Rippel-Elton
Republican: Troy Balderson (i)
Independent: N/A

District 13 – Portage (part), Stark (part), Summit
Democratic: Emilia Sykes
Republican: Madison Gesiotto Gilbert
Independent: N/A

District 14 – Ashtabula, Geauga, Lake, Portage (part), Trumbull
Democratic: Matt Kilboy
Republican: David Joyce (i)
Independent: N/A

District 15 – Clark (part), Fayette (part), Franklin (part), Madison, Miami (part), Shelby (part)
Democratic: Gary Josephson
Republican: Mike Carey (i)
Independent: Elizabeth McKenzie



Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

David DeWitt
David DeWitt

OCJ Editor-in-Chief and Columnist David DeWitt has been covering government, politics, and policy in Ohio since 2007, including education, health care, crime and courts, poverty, state and local government, business, labor, energy, environment, and social issues. He has worked for the National Journal, The New York Observer, The Athens NEWS, and Plunderbund.com. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Ohio University’s E.W. Scripps School of Journalism and is a board member of the E.W. Scripps Society of Alumni and Friends. He can be found on Twitter @DC_DeWitt