The Rundown

Highway Patrol lieutenant appointed to Householder’s former seat

By: - June 25, 2021 3:48 pm

The Ohio Statehouse. Photo by Jake Zuckerman, Ohio Capital Journal.

A lieutenant with the Ohio State Highway Patrol has been selected to fill the vacant House 72nd District seat left open by the expulsion of Larry Householder.

Kevin Miller, a Newark Republican, was picked among 20 applicants for the seat. The appointment was announced just two days after the deadline to apply and one day after a selection committee interviewed leading candidates.

The 72nd District covers all of Coshocton and Perry counties and part of Licking County east of Columbus.

“I am honored by the opportunity to serve the 72nd House District,” Miller said in a provided statement. “I’m looking forward to working on the issues affecting Coshocton, Licking and Perry counties and ensuring our communities’ voices are heard in Columbus.”

He will take office on Monday.

Miller previously served as the Patrol’s Granville Post commander and since 2017 worked as a legislative liaison at the Statehouse.

“Over the past four years, I have been able to experience and participate in the legislative process as an advocate for the Patrol,” Miller wrote in his application. “During this time, I have developed relationships with key members of the General Assembly as well as members of the (DeWine) administration.”

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

Tyler Buchanan
Tyler Buchanan

Tyler Buchanan is an award-winning journalist who has covered Ohio politics and government for the past decade. A Bellevue native and graduate of Bowling Green State University, he most recently spent 6 1/2 years as a reporter and editor of The Athens Messenger and Vinton-Jackson Courier newspapers. He is a member of the BG News Alumni Society Board and was a 2019 fellow in the Kiplinger Program in Public Affairs Journalism.