Ohio Dems announce pre-primary caucus sites to elect convention delegates

    Ohio delegates at the 2012 Democratic National Convention.
    File photo of Ohio delegates at the 2012 Democratic National Convention. Photo provided by the Ohio Democratic Party.

    The Ohio Democratic Party announced in a release Tuesday they will host 16 congressional district caucuses across the state on Tuesday, Jan. 7, to elect 89 district-level delegates and eight alternates to represent Ohio at the 2020 Democratic National Convention in Milwaukee.

    “Ohio Democrats are clearly fired up for 2020 and excited about our field of presidential candidates,” said Ohio Democratic Party Chairman David Pepper. “Nearly 2,000 Ohioans have already filed to run for delegate and represent the Buckeye State at next summer’s Democratic National Convention, where we will formally elect our nominee to defeat Donald Trump.”

    The deadline to apply to run for district-level delegate is Tuesday, Dec. 31, according to the release that included a link to the Ohio Dems’ delegate selection plan. The results of Ohio’s presidential primary on March 17 will determine the number of delegates each candidate is allocated in each congressional district and statewide.

    The release said Ohio will have a total of 153 convention delegates and 11 alternates, evenly divided between men and women, with diversity goals for African Americans, Hispanic/Latinos, Native Americans, Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, LGBTQ+, people with disabilities, veterans and young people (age 18-36).

    Caucuses are open to the public and members of the news media, the release said.

    It said that the caucuses will be held Tuesday, Jan. 7, with doors opening at 6 p.m., and caucuses starting at 7 p.m. at the following locations:

    1st Congressional District

    Winton Woods Intermediate School
    825 Waycross Rd.

    2nd Congressional District

    Anderson High School
    7560 Forest Rd.

    3rd Congressional District

    Columbus State Community College
    Delaware Hall
    499 Grove St.

    4th Congressional District

    Ridgedale Junior/Senior High School
    3165 Hillman-Ford Rd.

    5th Congressional District

    Bowling Green State University
    Paul J. Olscamp Hall
    1 Olscamp Hall
    Bowling Green

    6th Congressional District

    Ohio University Eastern Campus
    45425 National Rd. W
    St. Clairsville

    7th Congressional District

    GlenOak High School
    1801 Schneider St. NE

    8th Congressional District

    Miami University Regionals Hamilton Campus
    Harry T. Wilks Conference Center
    1601 University Blvd.

    9th Congressional District

    Sandusky High School
    2130 Hayes Ave.

    10th Congressional District

    Stivers School for the Arts
    1313 E. 5th St.

    11th Congressional District

    Cuyahoga Community College Metropolitan Campus
    2900 Community College Ave.

    12th Congressional District

    Willis Education Center
    74 W. William St.

    13th Congressional District

    Ravenna High School
    6589 N. Chestnut St.

    14th Congressional District

    Lakeland Community College
    Building A, Breakers Dining Hall
    7700 Clocktower Dr.

    15th Congressional District

    Groveport Madison High School
    4475 S. Hamilton Rd.

    16th Congressional District

    Brunswick High School
    Performing Arts Center
    3581 Center Rd.

    David C. DeWitt
    David C. DeWitt is an award-winning journalist with over 15 years experience covering Ohio politics and policy. He has worked for the National Journal, The New York Observer, The Athens NEWS and Plunderbund.com covering topics such as education, health care, crime and courts, poverty, government, business, labor, energy, environment and social issues. His work has also appeared in Government Executive, the Columbus Dispatch, Girlfriends magazine, Bleacher Report and the Ashtabula Star Beacon, among others.