Associated Press calls all 16 Ohio U.S. Congressional races for incumbents

By: - November 3, 2020 8:08 pm

The U.S. Capitol Building. Photo by Samuel Corum/Getty Images.

The Associated Press has called all of 16 Ohio U.S. Congressional district races in favor of incumbents, both Republican and Democratic.

The AP has called the races in favor of incumbent Democratic U.S. Reps. Joyce Beatty, Marcy Kaptur, Marcia Fudge, and Tim Ryan, as well as Republican incumbents Steve Chabot, Troy Balderson, Dave Joyce, Jim Jordan, Bob Gibbs, Anthony Gonzalez, Bob Latta, Warren Davidson, Steve Stivers, Mike Turner, Brad Wenstrup, and Bill Johnson.

These largely represent Ohio’s least competitive districts, though since the last round of redistricting in 2011, no U.S. House seat in Ohio has flipped control from one party to the other.

Ohioans approved Congressional redistricting reform in 2018, a new process for drawing maps that will take place in 2021.

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

David DeWitt
David DeWitt

OCJ Editor-in-Chief David DeWitt has more than 15 years experience covering Ohio government, politics and policy, including education, health care, crime and courts, poverty, state and local government, business, labor, energy, environment, and social issues. He has worked for the National Journal, The New York Observer, The Athens NEWS, and He holds a bachelor’s degree from Ohio University’s E.W. Scripps School of Journalism and is a board member of the E.W. Scripps Society of Alumni and Friends. He can be found on Twitter @DC_DeWitt.